The NIH Office of Dietary Supplements' Dietary Supplement Label Database lists 105 fertility supplements from 59 brands, and 85 of them are still on the market. In October 2026, our research team reviewed all 629 labels in the database that mention fertility, conception, or preconception to identify them, then recorded whether each is still on the market, the year its first label entered the database, who it targets, its form and product type, and its ingredients.
Fertility supplements cover a wide range, from multi-ingredient formulas built for trying to conceive to single herbs such as maca or tribulus sold with a fertility claim on the label. The category's size is usually measured in dollars, and a count of the products themselves is harder to find.
The NIH database records each label it collects, along with whether the product is still sold, which makes it possible to count fertility supplements directly and to see how the category has changed. A product counted here when its name refers to fertility or conception, or when its own label claims to support fertility or conception. Warnings such as consult a doctor if trying to conceive did not count, and prenatal vitamins were left out.
In the sections below, we break down fertility supplements by brand, by market status, by the year they entered the database, by how many have left the market, by audience, by form, by product type, and by ingredient.
Summary of Findings
- The NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database lists 105 fertility supplements as of October 2026, and 85 of them are still on the market.
- 60 of the 105 fertility supplements were first added to the database from 2020 to 2023, more than in the nine years before combined.
- 52.6% of fertility supplements added from 2011 to 2015 have left the market, compared with 13.3% of those added from 2020 to 2023.
- Products with fertility in the name list a median of 13 ingredients, while products that carry only a fertility claim list a median of one.
- Zinc is the most common ingredient, on 36.5% of on-market fertility supplements, and vitex appears only on products for women.
Brands With the Most Fertility Supplements on the Market
In the table below, we list the 10 brands with the most fertility supplements on the market, split by whether fertility appears in the product name or only in a claim on the label, and by audience.
| Brand | On-Market Products | Fertility in the Name | Claim Only | For Women | For Men | Both or Not Specified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fairhaven Health | 7 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 1 | 1 |
| Herbal Secrets | 5 | 0 | 5 | 2 | 0 | 3 |
| Banyan Botanicals | 4 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 4 |
| Bluebonnet Intimate Essentials | 4 | 4 | 0 | 2 | 2 | 0 |
| Mountain Meadow Herbs | 4 | 0 | 4 | 1 | 2 | 1 |
| Coast Science | 3 | 3 | 0 | 2 | 1 | 0 |
| Nature's Craft | 3 | 3 | 0 | 1 | 2 | 0 |
| Premama | 3 | 3 | 0 | 2 | 1 | 0 |
| Teatox Life | 3 | 3 | 0 | 2 | 1 | 0 |
| Zazzee Naturals | 3 | 0 | 3 | 2 | 0 | 1 |
| 39 other brands | 46 | 18 | 28 | 13 | 12 | 21 |
| Total, 49 brands | 85 | 37 | 48 | 32 | 22 | 31 |
Source: Fertility Supplement Index analysis of the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database, October 2026
Number of brands.
Source: Fertility Supplement Index analysis of the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database, October 2026
Our team took three findings from the brand data:
- We found that Fairhaven Health has the most fertility supplements on the market, 7, spanning products for women, for men, and for both partners.
- Our data showed that Herbal Secrets' five products are all maca in different strengths and forms, so counts include strength and form variants as the database lists them.
- We found that the top 10 brands account for 39 of the 85 products on the market, and the other 39 brands share the remaining 46.
Fertility Supplements by Market Status
In the table below, we split fertility supplements into products with fertility or conception in the name and products that carry only a fertility claim on the label, and show how many in each group are still sold.
| Group | Products | On the Market | Off the Market | Share Off the Market | Brands | Median Ingredients, On the Market |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fertility or conception in the name | 44 | 37 | 7 | 15.9% | 24 | 13 |
| Fertility claim on the label only | 61 | 48 | 13 | 21.3% | 37 | 1 |
| Total | 105 | 85 | 20 | 19.0% | 59 | 6 |
Source: Fertility Supplement Index analysis of the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database, October 2026
- Fertility or conception in the name, 44 products84.1%15.9%
- Fertility claim on the label only, 61 products78.7%21.3%
- All fertility supplements, 105 products81.0%19.0%
- On the market
- Off the market
Source: Fertility Supplement Index analysis of the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database, October 2026
Our researchers drew three conclusions from the market status data:
- We found that products with only a fertility claim on the label outnumber products with fertility in the name, 61 to 44.
- Our data showed that products with fertility in the name were less likely to leave the market, at 15.9% against 21.3% for claim-only products.
- We found that claim-only products come from more brands, 37 against 24, because many general herb and nutrient brands add a fertility claim to a single-ingredient product.
Fertility Supplements Added to the Database by Year
In the table below, we group all 105 products by the year their first label entered the database, split by group, with the number from each year that is still on the market.
| Year | Products Added | Fertility in the Name | Claim Only | Still on the Market |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2011 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| 2012 | 5 | 2 | 3 | 1 |
| 2013 | 3 | 1 | 2 | 1 |
| 2014 | 8 | 5 | 3 | 5 |
| 2015 | 2 | 0 | 2 | 1 |
| 2016 | 4 | 3 | 1 | 4 |
| 2017 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| 2018 | 3 | 0 | 3 | 1 |
| 2019 | 8 | 2 | 6 | 8 |
| 2020 | 14 | 8 | 6 | 11 |
| 2021 | 15 | 7 | 8 | 13 |
| 2022 | 15 | 3 | 12 | 12 |
| 2023 | 16 | 7 | 9 | 16 |
| 2024 | 5 | 2 | 3 | 5 |
| 2025 | 5 | 2 | 3 | 5 |
| Total | 105 | 44 | 61 | 85 |
Source: Fertility Supplement Index analysis of the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database, October 2026
- 20111
- 20125
- 20133
- 20148
- 20152
- 20164
- 20171
- 20183
- 20198
- 202014
- 202115
- 202215
- 202316
- 20245
- 20255
Source: Fertility Supplement Index analysis of the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database, October 2026
Our team took three findings from the timeline data:
- We found that additions peaked in 2023, with 16 products, every one of them still on the market.
- Our data showed that 2022 stands out for claim-only products, with 12 of its 15 additions carrying a fertility claim without fertility in the name.
- We found that additions fell to 5 in each of 2024 and 2025. Entry years reflect when NIH added a label, which also depends on the database's own collection work, so part of the drop may be a lag that later updates fill in.
How Many Fertility Supplements Have Left the Market
In the table below, we group products by the period their first label entered the database and show how many from each period are now marked as off the market.
| Period First Added | Products Added | Off the Market | Share Off the Market | Fertility in the Name | Claim Only |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2011 to 2015 | 19 | 10 | 52.6% | 9 | 10 |
| 2016 to 2019 | 16 | 2 | 12.5% | 6 | 10 |
| 2020 to 2023 | 60 | 8 | 13.3% | 25 | 35 |
| 2024 to 2025 | 10 | 0 | 0.0% | 4 | 6 |
| Total | 105 | 20 | 19.0% | 44 | 61 |
Source: Fertility Supplement Index analysis of the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database, October 2026
Source: Fertility Supplement Index analysis of the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database, October 2026
Our researchers drew three conclusions from the turnover data:
- We found that more than half of the fertility supplements added from 2011 to 2015 have left the market.
- Our data showed that products added from 2016 onward have stayed on the market at a far higher rate, with no product from 2024 or 2025 yet withdrawn.
- We found that half of the 20 products now off the market were first added from 2011 to 2015, so the withdrawals are concentrated among the oldest labels.
Fertility Supplements by Audience
In the table below, we sort the 85 fertility supplements on the market by who they are sold to, using the product name, the label's own identity statements, and the database's target groups.
| Audience | Products | Share of On-Market Products | Fertility in the Name | Claim Only | Median Ingredients |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Women | 32 | 37.6% | 21 | 11 | 7.5 |
| Men | 22 | 25.9% | 12 | 10 | 11 |
| Both partners or not specified | 31 | 36.5% | 4 | 27 | 1 |
| Total | 85 | 100% | 37 | 48 | 6 |
Source: Fertility Supplement Index analysis of the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database, October 2026
- Women37.6%
- Both partners or not specified36.5%
- Men25.9%
Source: Fertility Supplement Index analysis of the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database, October 2026
Our team took three findings from the audience data:
- We found that 21 of the 37 on-market products with fertility in the name are for women and 12 are for men.
- Our data showed that claim-only products rarely pick a partner: 27 of 48 target both or do not say.
- We found that products for men list a median of 11 ingredients, more than products for women at 7.5, because men's formulas tend to combine antioxidants, amino acids, and minerals.
Fertility Supplements by Form
In the table below, we break down the 85 fertility supplements on the market by the physical form recorded in the NIH database, split by group.
| Form | Products | Share of On-Market Products | Fertility in the Name | Claim Only |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Capsule | 50 | 58.8% | 25 | 25 |
| Powder | 17 | 20.0% | 4 | 13 |
| Liquid | 9 | 10.6% | 3 | 6 |
| Tea bag or other | 4 | 4.7% | 4 | 0 |
| Tablet | 3 | 3.5% | 0 | 3 |
| Lozenge | 1 | 1.2% | 1 | 0 |
| Softgel | 1 | 1.2% | 0 | 1 |
| Total | 85 | 100% | 37 | 48 |
Source: Fertility Supplement Index analysis of the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database, October 2026
- Capsule58.8%
- Powder20.0%
- Liquid10.6%
- Tea bag or other4.7%
- Tablet3.5%
- Lozenge1.2%
- Softgel1.2%
Source: Fertility Supplement Index analysis of the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database, October 2026
Our researchers drew three conclusions from the form data:
- We found that capsules make up more than half of the fertility supplements on the market, split evenly between the two groups.
- Our data showed that 13 of the 17 powders are claim-only products, a mix of single herbs such as shatavari and maca and inositol drink mixes.
- We found that all four teas and tea-bag products carry fertility in the name, so the fertility tea is a product type of its own.
Fertility Supplements by Product Type and Ingredient Count
In the table below, we break down on-market fertility supplements by the product type the NIH database assigns, with the median number of ingredients in each type.
| Product Type | Products | Share of On-Market Products | Fertility in the Name | Claim Only | Median Ingredients |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Combination of nutrients and botanicals | 41 | 48.2% | 26 | 15 | 13 |
| Botanical | 34 | 40.0% | 9 | 25 | 1 |
| Other non-nutrient, non-botanical | 6 | 7.1% | 0 | 6 | 1.5 |
| Botanical with nutrients | 2 | 2.4% | 2 | 0 | 27 |
| Mineral | 2 | 2.4% | 0 | 2 | 1 |
| Total | 85 | 100% | 37 | 48 | 6 |
Source: Fertility Supplement Index analysis of the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database, October 2026
Number of products.
Source: Fertility Supplement Index analysis of the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database, October 2026
Our team took three findings from the product type data:
- We found that 26 of the 85 on-market products list a single ingredient, and 25 of those carry only a fertility claim.
- Our data showed that 17 products list 21 or more ingredients, and 13 of them have fertility in the name.
- We found that botanicals make up 40.0% of the market, and 25 of the 34 are claim-only products such as maca, shatavari, or tribulus on their own.
The Most Common Ingredients in Fertility Supplements
In the table below, we show how often 14 ingredients common in fertility products appear on the 85 products on the market, split by group and by audience.
| Ingredient | All Products | Fertility in the Name | Claim Only | For Women | For Men | Both or Not Specified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zinc | 36.5% | 64.9% | 14.6% | 40.6% | 72.7% | 6.5% |
| Selenium | 32.9% | 59.5% | 12.5% | 37.5% | 59.1% | 9.7% |
| Folate | 29.4% | 45.9% | 16.7% | 34.4% | 50.0% | 9.7% |
| Inositol | 28.2% | 35.1% | 22.9% | 56.2% | 9.1% | 12.9% |
| Maca | 25.9% | 18.9% | 31.2% | 12.5% | 45.5% | 25.8% |
| Vitamin D | 20.0% | 40.5% | 4.2% | 34.4% | 27.3% | 0.0% |
| Vitex (chasteberry) | 20.0% | 37.8% | 6.2% | 53.1% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| CoQ10 | 17.6% | 27.0% | 10.4% | 15.6% | 36.4% | 6.5% |
| L-carnitine | 15.3% | 21.6% | 10.4% | 3.1% | 45.5% | 6.5% |
| L-arginine | 14.1% | 21.6% | 8.3% | 9.4% | 36.4% | 3.2% |
| Tribulus | 11.8% | 8.1% | 14.6% | 0.0% | 27.3% | 12.9% |
| Ashwagandha | 9.4% | 18.9% | 2.1% | 12.5% | 18.2% | 0.0% |
| NAC | 9.4% | 13.5% | 6.2% | 9.4% | 18.2% | 3.2% |
| DHEA | 1.2% | 2.7% | 0.0% | 3.1% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
Source: Fertility Supplement Index analysis of the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database, October 2026
- Zinc36.5%
- Selenium32.9%
- Folate29.4%
- Inositol28.2%
- Maca25.9%
- Vitamin D20.0%
- Vitex (chasteberry)20.0%
- CoQ1017.6%
- L-carnitine15.3%
- L-arginine14.1%
- Tribulus11.8%
- Ashwagandha9.4%
- NAC9.4%
- DHEA1.2%
Source: Fertility Supplement Index analysis of the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database, October 2026
Our researchers drew three conclusions from the ingredient data:
- We found that zinc appears on 72.7% of products for men, the highest share of any ingredient in any audience group.
- Our data showed that inositol and vitex are the signature ingredients for women, on 56.2% and 53.1% of women's products, while vitex appears on no product for men.
- We found that L-carnitine and L-arginine are largely men's ingredients, on 45.5% and 36.4% of men's products against 3.1% and 9.4% of women's.
What the Product Count Means for Shoppers
The count shows a core of formulas built for conception, surrounded by a larger ring of single herbs and nutrients that carry a fertility claim on the label. The two groups are different products: one is a multi-ingredient formula, and the other is usually a single ingredient with a claim attached.
The category grew quickly in the early 2020s, and many of its oldest products have already left the market. That turnover makes the current label, not an old review, the thing to check.
So if you are comparing fertility supplements, check whether a product is a full formula or a single herb with a fertility claim before you compare prices.
Sources (1)
Methodology
We used the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements Dietary Supplement Label Database API, version 9, on October 29, 2026. Searches for fertility, conception, and preconception returned 361, 277, and 36 labels, or 629 unique labels, and we read every full label.
A product counted when its name contains fertility, fertile, conception, conceive, preconception, or TTC, or when one of its own label statements claims to support fertility or conception. Precaution statements did not count, prenatal vitamins were left out, and phrases about soil fertility on farming claims were excluded. A separate search for conceive returned 3,522 labels, mostly warnings on unrelated products; its product names held no fertility products we had not already counted, though claim-only products that use only the word conceive may be missing.
Label versions with the same brand and product name were combined, and five renamed products were merged with their later names: two Eu Natural formulas and three Fairhaven Health products. Brand spellings were matched, such as Natures Plus and NaturesPlus. Strength, flavor, and form variants count separately, as the database lists them.
Market status is the database's on-market or off-market flag for the most recent label version. Year added is the entry date of a product's first label version, not its launch date. Audience comes from the product name, identity statements, and target groups. Product type and form follow the database's own codes. Ingredients include nested ingredients within blends.
A product absent from the database is not counted, so these figures describe the database, not every product sold online. We calculated products, differences, and ratios from the published values.